Skip to content
February 8, 2013 / ristyka

My Baby is One…….

 

DSCN2084

I definitely look more rested now…..wow….the picture below is rough….

101_1950

Two days old…..

Image 2

 

12 months old……

Well, Ally is now a one year old.  I am not sure how that happened, but it did.  In the past couple of months, her personality has really developed and we have begun venturing out in public again:-) For her birthday, I took the day off work and we went to our favorite place on earth, the Detroit Zoo.  I tell people all the time, it truly is such a gem to have a mere 20 minutes away.  We ended up spending 2.5 hours there and it went well.  I find it so interesting that when the two of them are with just me, Nick tends to listen so much better than when it is just him and I.  It’s like he understands that he has to rise to the occasion.

100_3351

Yep……she really is one…….

100_3374

 

This is what he thinks of his sister….sometimes.

100_3377

Other times, it’s more like this……

100_3369

Checking out the polar bears…..

100_3327

Oh mom, we just have to look away…..you’re crazy!!!

100_3360

Hanging out together in the polar bear exhibit

100_3335

Watching the sea otters….

100_3367

The polar bear was right above her!

100_3337

Checking out the “blue room” in the reptile house!

In addition to all of the fun we’ve been having at the zoo, I believe we are all finally adjusting to my morning schedule.  Wouldn’t you know, it is changing again at the end of March.  I have decided that working in the afternoon works best for ME, but working in the morning works best for US.  We seem to have fallen into a routine here and that has made life a bit easier.

Ally had her one year check up yesterday and she is in the 97th percentile for height and weight.  The doctor also said that 75 percent of a child’s personality is developed by their first birthday.  The adjectives he used to describe Ally were: strong, independent, focused, and happy.  Hmmmm……3 out of 4 isn’t bad:-)  I told him we call her the Beast-Diva and he laughed.  He told me to be sure to write that in her baby book.  She really is developing this strong personality.  Where in the world would she get that from?  I love watching her assert herself, I love watching how her love of the outdoors is so similar to mine, and I LOVE her independence.  She is going to change the world one day.  Somehow, this kid is going to change the world.  I said it here first.  While she’s busy changing the world, her brother will be cracking into the FBI computer system:-)

Happy First Birthday, Al.  I love you with all my heart and soul.  You make me proud to be your mom everyday (even when you walk backwards into my computer and delete my 5 page paper).

P.S.  Give your dad a hard time once in a while….just to keep him on his toes:-)  Oh….and you are starting to give your brother a run for his money….I like that too:-)

Image 6

Image 5

Sleeping in the stroller and laying on mama……..awwwwwwwww

Image

The most beautiful baby girl in the world:-)

Leave a Reply

